5 Vital Lessons Learned From 5 Years of Writing Professionally

Harsh truths and important principles.

Adrian Drew
6 min readAug 17, 2022
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

I’m a writer. Always have been, probably always will be.

I’ll spare you the boring “I used to love writing stories as a kid” spiel, because you don’t care. And you shouldn’t. You care about building a career as a writer, which is why you’re here.

Thankfully, you’ve come to the right (write?) place. And before you ask yourself, “Why would I listen to this guy?” — let me introduce myself.

  • I began freelance writing at around eighteen, choosing paid work from my laptop over studying.
  • In my first year, I earned around $25,000 from writing.
  • Later, I started earning $1 per word to write for a depression-focused company. (For context, this bullet point would’ve earned me $23.)
  • Then, I started a publication which peaked at 2.5 million readers per month.
  • Now, I own a globally-stocked magazine featuring bestselling authors and A-list actors.

I’m no expert, but I’ve got some skin in the game by this point. And I want to help you.

So grab yourself a coffee, open your notepad, and let’s do it. Here are the 5 most vital lessons I’ve learned in the past 5 years of…

--

--

Adrian Drew

Owner of Mind Cafe | Let’s chat on Instagram: @adriandrew__