No, Freelance Writing Isn’t Saturated

The people that tell you there’s no money in writing are lying.

Adrian Drew
8 min readMar 20, 2023
Photo by Art Lasovsky on Unsplash

At eighteen, I decided university was the right path for me. I applied to study psychology at four colleges in England, visited them for open days, and enrolled on student finance.

My teachers, family, and friends supported my decision, and my parents were proud that their son was going to become successful by way of further education.

Everything was in place.

Offers began pouring in from the universities I’d applied for. Thousands of pounds of student debt were waiting for my beloved ownership. All that was left for me to do was sit down in a roundup meeting with my sixth-form tutor and my mother to sign off my time at school and make my final decision.

It was there, in that meeting, that I made my final decision. ‘Sir,’ I said to my teacher. ‘I’ve been thinking.’

‘I don’t want to go to university at all. I’ve declined all of my offers and I’m going to become a freelancer writer instead.’

He reeled in shock. Then he proceeded to spend the next thirty minutes attempting to convince me that I’d regret this decision.

--

--

Adrian Drew

Owner of Mind Cafe | Let’s chat on Instagram: @adriandrew__