Stop Expecting Everything to Stay the Same

Life is full of changes, and that doesn’t have to be a bad thing

Adrian Drew
4 min readMar 3, 2019

My life has changed enormously in the past twelve months. Almost nothing has remained the same.

I’ve changed jobs. My parents separated. My social circle is entirely different. My fiancé was diagnosed with brain cancer. I shaved off all of my hair. Everything is different.

In the beginning, these changes were all really difficult to deal with — difficult because they caught me completely off guard. I’d expected to finish education, waltz into a job, marry, have children and live an ordinary life.

Instead, I changed my plans to go to university, took up freelancing and had to learn to cope with the most shocking news I’ve ever received, facing the prospect of something I’d never even dreamed would happen to me in my twenties.

The only way I’ve managed to stay sane along the way is by learning to accept the fact that everything changes. Nothing will stay the same, and that isn’t always a bad thing. Let me explain.

Attachment Often Leads to Misery

Moments come and go. Days pass, as do weeks, months and years. Everything about you and your life is constantly changing. Nothing is permanent.

--

--

Adrian Drew

Owner of Mind Cafe | Let’s chat on Instagram: @adriandrew__